Reason My Cat is A Jerk #32: She’s An Attention Hog

4 09 2010

So here’s the thing about Jezebel. She LOVES attention. She would be perfectly happy if you did nothing but pet her all day long. She would revel in it. Soak it up.

Pants? Not so much. She really wants you to pet her, sometimes. When it’s convenient for her.  Usually when she’s hungry or you’re in the chair she wants to sit in or you’re sleeping. Not Jezebel. She wants you to pet her and scratch her and love her all the freakin’ time.

I love this cat to distraction. But occasionally I want to do something without having her butt in my face. So sometimes, I’ll leave her and walk into the other room. Big mistake.
She’ll sit and cry for you until you come pet her. I’ll be in the living room trying to work, and she’ll be hanging out in the kitchen, whining and whining. She won’t give up until you get up and actually come in and pet her.

(Naturally, she won’t come to you. You have to go to her. Because she’s like that.)
I suppose, like most things, it’s really my fault. I never should have let her train me like this. The first time she whined and I responded to it, I taught her that being annoying was an effective way to get my attention.

But she takes it to a whole different level.

Jezebel on orange chair

The thing is, when she’s whining for you, she just sounds so pathetic and sad and, well, frankly, annoying, that I eventually give up and go in and pet her so she’ll stop crying. And the moment she actually sees you walk into the room to pet her, her little fuzzy face just lights up. She is SO happy to see you. It’s completely adorable. Which means that you want to make her happy.

A friend once saw it happen and remarked that I’d been summoned by my cat.

I prefer to think of it as making my little jerk of a cat happier than she’s ever been, at least since last time.

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 09 2010
Mia

Are you the Anne Dayton the writer or is this just a coincidence?

23 09 2010
bethie

Just discovered your blog! I have an extremely needy kitty named Jezebel, too, but she’s too sweet for me to call her a jerk (right now anyway). I do however have a jerk of a kitten who lives to terrorize us.

17 02 2011
Rhoann Joffe

MY cat has got me trained to come and open the door when he knocks on the cat flap. He can come in through the cat flap and does so when nobody is awake or nobody is home but if I am home and in the kitchen it is much easier for him to have his mommy run and to the front door and open it and call him and wait as he slowly strolls round the house (he strolls extras slowly if the weather is freezing) or even worse run and get the back door key and open the door for him. He will knock and knock and knock.

6 09 2011
snowblondie

I had a cat named Jezabel and she was meaner than hell. She would attack our arms and scratch with her front and back paws while biting me, if I tried to reach out and pet her… The only time she was nice was when we were feeding her fancy feast out of the can

12 01 2014
Tony (@Tedesco)

my neighbours think I am nuts, because when my cat meows, then louder then start howling… I lose it. I start yelling back “shut up… just stfu… SHUUUUUTTTT UUUUUP”… Spazz always wins the argument.

21 11 2014
stephanie sherwin

I swear my Levi actually meows “mamma”. I need to record it, because people think I’m crazy.

Leave a Reply

