Reason My Cat is a Jerk #9: She Likes My Husband Better

12 12 2008

Back before my husband and I got married, we talked about one day getting cats. Well, I talked about getting cats. He was ambivalent. I LOVE cats; he just thought they were kind of weird. So once we were legally bound and set up with nice new furniture for the little jerks to destroy, I started whining about how I wanted to get kittens. I would look at pictures of kittens at nearby shelters online. I would casually walk into PetCo, just to check out the rescue cats. I would get friends who had cats to talk about how much they loved their furry friends around my husband.

Then one day, I went in on my regular rounds at PetCo, and fell in love with these two little black kittens I just knew were meant to be ours. I sent my husband to the store to check them out later that afternoon. I called him while he was still in the store to see what he thought. I finally convinced him that it was time to take the plunge.

So how do the ungrateful cats repay me for my pivotal role in bringing them into our loving home? Naturally, they decide to show clear and express favoritism toward my husband.

If we’re both sitting on the couch, they’ll pick his lap to sit on, every time. If we’re both in the apartment, they’ll follow him around. It’s like I don’t even exist. If they want attention, they’ll go and meow at him.

All I want to do when I get home from work is pet my kitties and hold them. My husband? Couldn’t care less. They flock to him.

Ninety percent of the time, I’m the one who puts food in their dish. They still go to him when they’re hungry.

I’m always willing to throw a toy mouse for them. They still bring their mice to him.

It doesn’t matter what he’s doing; they just want to be with him. Me? Not so much

The more I try to love them, the more they run to him. It’s like being with my high school boyfriend Ralph all over again, except even my cats would have remembered to call me on my sixteenth birthday. Or maybe they just would have called my husband instead, since they like him so much.

Either way, for not appreciating all the love I have to give, catholes, you, like Ralph, are total jerks.

Actions

Information

14 responses

21 12 2008
Becky

how did I not know about this blog?! Awesomeness! My kitties look so much like your babies. I can’t wait to keep up on Pants and Jezebel here.

2 02 2009
megan

*sigh*

My cat loves my fiance more than me. For that they are both jerky.

3 06 2009
Jess

Lol! This blog is pure gold. I, too, am the owner of a jerk of the feline persuasion.

She never purrs. She would rather have nothing to do with me. She runs from my love! She only uses me when she wants to play. And her favorite/only type of play is ROUGH play. I have hairline scars on both arms to prove this. I put up with it because it’s the only attention she gives me! Although that’s a-changin’ as I am quite fond of my forearm skin, hah.

Please keep posting, I love knowing other people go through the same thing!

Why oh why do our kitties insist on being jerks?

16 05 2010
Christiee

I think I read something once about why in a group of people, a cat will pick the one allergic, or not caring of it’s presents to come to for attention. “When a cat enters the room, many cat lovers look right at the cat, start making “Here kitty, kitty” or other strange noises and make movements toward the cat. All of these are perceived as hostile acts.” basically seek safety with the one who doesn’t stare or call them. I think it’s the same idea with yer cats, only you vs. yer husband.

Also tho, dunno how old yer cats were when you got them, but my cat that was a young kitten, he’s like my bestest best friend lover ever, especially when my husbands mad at me, he always shows up to give me loving. But not only did I feed him and play with him, I kept him away from my brothers, who weren’t very nice at all, so by contrast I became the better person. But my other cat that I got after I was married, she prefers to sit on my husbands lap, and when we first got he, she’d rarely ever sit on mine or sleep by me on the bed, 3 years now ,she’ll crawl all over me and sit in my lap, but just not for very long and I think it has to do with me petting her, my husband doesn’t really pet her as he doesn’t care, he just lets her sit there, and she’ll lay on him for hours still. I think that’s what they like. They just want our body warmth, not our lovin’ so much.

17 05 2010
Sarah

I think this is common with cats, actually… Female cats seem naturally more drawn to men, and vise versa.

My ex got a cat shortly before we broke up, and she would always cower when a woman came over. She got used to me after a while, but I was there every day… Now that I’m not there as much, she stops coming to me.

That’s just my observation of it, though.

4 07 2010
Klaue

Christiee is right. It’s mostly the staring though. Cats like high-pitched noise (that’s why cats are generally more attrackted to female humans and also why you should give them a name ending in a high-pitched letter like y), but they hate staring. When two cats meet outside, they don’t attack each other, but they just stand there, staring each other down for a long time until one of them makes a move. For cats, looking them in the eyes is a bit like saying “I dare you”. Cats that are friendly to each other almost never look each other in the eye.
The best way to deal with it is just looking slightly to the right or left, not directly at the eyes, or nearly close the eyes like cats do when they’re comfy. It’s just different body language. A bit like dogs wag their tails when they’re happy but if a cat does it, you’re in for some scratching.
You could also try immitating the purring, which is cat language for “I don’t plan to hurt you if you don’t hurt me” (not just “I’m happy” as many people think.. cats purr too when they’re dying or in deep pain), but that may be a bit too silly and it might sound more like growling.

22 02 2011
Freya

I loved my cats but my man didn’t… they all moved him waaaaay more than me. I stopped caring that they loved him more & eventually he ended up loving the cats! I couldn’t care less about them at that point…..which was exactly the time they decided to love me more instead of him.

After owning 6 different cats at different points in my life, I am inclined to say that if you love your cats, they will hate you. If you hate them, they will love you.

9 03 2011
Noir

yeah female cats usually tend to like men more than women and they also like people who ignore them.i once read that they do that because they think that ignoring them it’s a form of respect. that’s why it seems like they are more fond to people who don’t like cats( because they don’t approach them )

1 05 2011
odd, but nice

My cat a.) looks identical to yours and b.) EXACT SAME THING! I feed him, love him, spoil him – husband didn’t even WANT him! And the damn cat loves him like crazy. NOT FAIR. :( My cat is a jerk too.

4 09 2011
Kayla

I feel your pain. My husband and I have two cats, adopted seperately. His is a female Siamese mix named Calypso and mine is a male Snowshoe named Skylar. Calypso cries and throughs a fit if hubby leaves but walks away when I try to pet her. Skylar loves everyone (even the vet) but shows a preference for me, running from anyone else to jump in my lap. I kind of wish he’d snub my husband once so he’d know how I feel with Calypso’s snootiness!

11 12 2012
mary snoop

THE GREAT DR ODUDUMOYOYO WHO BROUGHT MY HUSBAND BACK TO ME .
My name is mary snoop I live in USA, . My husband and I have been living a very happy and lovely life. So as time went on, I began to notice this strange attitude that he was possessing. He was now having another girl friend called jane, to the extent that he was no longer picking up my calls, and he was not even sleeping in my house anymore because of this new girl friend. I became confused and didn’t know what to do . So i became worried and stranded, , because I have never experienced a thing like this before in my life.
So I decided to visit a spell caster online, to see if he can help me out. So immediately I went to the internet, where I saw an amazing testimony of a spell caster who brought someone’s ex lover back,odudumoyoyo@gmail.com so I email him immediately and I explained to him all my problems and immediately he reply to me that it will be very easy for him to solve, i have been helping people a situation like the one i have. And he also gave me some proof to be really sure of his work, and he assured me that my husband will come back to me immediately he is through with the spell casting. And also he told me to put all my trust in him, and I really believe him.
So it was 9:00 am on the next morning, when I was about going to work, when i received my husband’s call, and he told me that he was coming back home , and he apologized to me, and told me that he is very sorry for the pain that he has cost me. And after some minutes later, he really came back home, and that was how we continued our marriage with lots of love and happiness again, and our love was now stronger than how it were before.
And he also told me that once my heart desire has been granted unto me that i should go and testify of his work right here on the internet. Right now I am the happiest woman on earth today as I am writing this testimony, and I want to really thank ” Dr odudumoyoyo” for bringing back my husband, and for bringing joy and love to my life.
my advice for you out there who your husband or your wife is acting strange or behaving the same way like this, or you have any problem with your relationship or anything related to do with spell casting, is for you to go and visit this odudumoyoyo@gmail.com, and i assure you that he will be of help to you, and I am 90% sure that he will solve it out.
Thank Dr odudumoyoyo

28 12 2012
helskel

“like my husband” …more

26 07 2013
Estil

Two words: daddy’s girls. Nuff said.

9 12 2013
Daphnie

I can tell you right now, female cats do not always go to men. I have 3 male cats and one female. She hates my husband with a passion. She tolerates him but, when he goes away on business trips it’s the happiest she ever is. lol She also only bonds with other female cats. Both females she grew up with we lost to cancer and kidney failure so she’s the only girl left. She’s also a Tortie so, that might have something to do with it. Torties are famous for their “tortie-tudes.”Two out of three of my male cats don’t care who they get love from while the third that I rescued and my husband wanted to get rid of, adores my husband more than life itself and visa verse. He’s my husbands best pal. I used to care that he didn’t like me much and he basically ignored the fact I existed. When I stopped caring is when he started jumping on my lap.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

